TEDxUMontana

TEDxUMontana: exciting ideas at the University of Montana

Meet Diana Six

Diana Six has a big story to tell about a little beetle.

Image
Why did you want to speak at TEDxUMontana?

The mountain pine beetle/climate/global tree die-off story is really big and important, yet it seems to be off most people’s radar. I wanted a chance to let people know what is happening, particularly from an evidence-based, scientific framework.

What was your reaction when you found out you were selected as a speaker?

I thought- hey, cool. This will be fun! (actually, it scared my socks off).

What inspires you about TED talks?

Most of the inspiration to me comes from the passion of the speakers – from how much they care. Because of this, the talks inspire, discomfort, anger, create joy, inform, and entertain. All good stuff.

How do you want to change the world?

I don’t want to change the world. I want to change how people think about change. Humans have done so many amazing things. But, we have to know when enough is enough. We have changed the world to the point that it is barely recognizable in most places, and we continue to do so at an amazing pace. I think it’s time to stop thinking change and try to hold onto what beauty and function remains and to maintain what we still have of the critical support the Earth gives us. It’s a precarious time for the planet and for us. So maybe we should stop thinking about changing the world, but instead try to hang on to what we have. And that will be a very big challenge.

What are you passionate about beyond your work?

My man, nature, and life in general. Those are the biggies. I am a 200% or nothing type of person, so when I take something on, it is always full bore. My work takes up 80%+ of my time-that’s okay because my research focuses on things I am totally connected with and committed to.  After that it is fly fishing, hiking, painting, fly tying, cooking, exploring, writing, bodybuilding, gardening, and, of course, COFFEE.

Learn more about Diana

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2013 by .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

